Read: Aurora – Chapter 1 Nightmares

 

NIGHTMARES

          Aurora Spencer awoke with a gasp. She rolled over in bed and reached for her alarm clock.
       3:03
       She knew it was pointless to try to go back to sleep. She was used to it. This was the same routine that happened frequently since that night. The nightmares had gone away for a long while and Aurora had been relieved, but for the past week they had returned.
She turned on the lamp on her night stand. She sat up in bed and rubbed her eyes trying to adjust to the light. Waking up in the middle of the night was not her cup of tea no matter how often it occurred. She slipped on her house slippers and grudgingly pulled herself up from the bed. She walked to the bathroom connected to her bedroom and looked into the mirror above her sink. Her blue eyes were half open. She splashed water on her face.
Aurora slipped out of her bedroom and walked quietly down the marble staircase. She flipped on the kitchen lights and got a glass out of the cabinet. She took a pitcher of orange juice out of the refrigerator and began pouring it into her glass.
Suddenly there was a loud crashing noise and Aurora jumped, knocking over her glass and shattering it to the floor. She turned quick and saw that her Godfather was there. He had knocked over the garbage can.
“A- Aurora, darling,” he stammered. “I am so sorry. I did not mean to frighten you. I heard a noise and came in to investigate.”
“It’s alright,” Aurora said. She started to go grab a broom to clean up the broken glass.
“No, no, don’t worry about the mess. I will have Alfred clean it up.”
He never wanted her to clean anything. He treated her like she was a perfect little princess, but she never wanted that. She wanted to feel normal for once.
“That is not necessary. You aren’t waking up Alfred just to clean. It is my mess. I will clean it up.”
She swept up the broken glass and soaked up the orange juice with paper towels while Godfather sat the garbage can back up.
“What are you doing awake?” Godfather asked. “Is it those nightmares again?”
Aurora sighed. “Yes. I don’t know why they came back. I was doing fine.”
“I’m worried about you.”
        “You don’t have to worry. I will be fine.”
Aurora poured herself another glass of orange juice and took a sip.
“Sorry I woke you up. I was trying to be quiet,” Aurora apologized.
“Well,” Godfather started. “Honestly, I wasn’t asleep. I was in my office.”
“What were you doing in your office?” Aurora questioned.
“Just trying to get some work finished.”
“You need sleep though. You’ve been working so hard.”
“I can’t sleep anyway.”
“You should at least try,” Aurora said.
Godfather sighed. “You’re right. I’m off to bed. I have a meeting in the morning, so I will not be here when you wake up.”
Aurora nodded, wondering why he had so many meetings lately, but she didn’t ask.
Godfather kissed her on the cheek.
“Good night, Aurora,” he said. “And sweet dreams, I hope.”
“Good night,” she said and went up to her room to try to get some sleep herself.

Click to read Chapter 2: Classified

One thought on “Read: Aurora – Chapter 1 Nightmares

Leave a Reply

